2013 Poets’ Corner Contest Winners Announced

Winners have been announced for the 32nd annual Poets’ Corner Contest sponsored by the City of Modesto Parks, Recreation and Neighborhoods Department and the Modesto’s Poets’ Corner Committee, a sub-committee of the Culture Commission.

Judges selected 45 winning poems and 9 Honorable Mentions from 196 entries.  Winners ranged in age from Preschool/K to senior citizens. The winning poems will be read at 1:30 p.m., on Sunday, May 19, 2013 at the McHenry Museum, 14th and I Streets, Modesto with a reception to follow.  Each winner will receive a copy of the Modesto Poets’ Corner Celebration Program of Contest Winning Poems. The public is invited.

This year’s special category was entitled “Pets,” in celebration of a favorite pet, a family pet, an unusual pet or the pet we wished we had. In addition to the special category, the contest was open to any other subject and form of poetry, such as rhymed, free verse, light verse, sonnet, haiku and ballad.  Congratulations to this year’s Poets’ Corner poets. 

The 2013 Winners are as follows:

Youth Winners:                              

Annyher Reyes-Ayala

Autumn Collins

Bradley Scott

Cinthia A. Hernandez

Czarina Garcia

Dekker White

Eleni Keriotis

Eliana Montalavo

Gillian Gray

Grace Benham

Jesus Bernal

Josephine Henderson

Katie Krieger

Kiley Pesco

Kylie Tuitavuki

Lars Paulsen

Mia Bird Hargrave

Paige Johnson

Sarah Lim

Sarah O’Leary

Savannah Adeline Lucero

Sofia Johnson

Sophia Orlando

Zoe Keriotis


Adult Winners: 

Angel Villagomez

Arnold Acker

Casey Giffin

Chyril Turner

Cleo Griffith

Donna Snow

Doug C. Souza

Louise Kantro

Lynn M. Hansen

Nancee Kinkaid Maya

Nancy Haskett

Roberta Bearden

Sarah Haskett

Tom Myers

Tom Portwood

Virginia Calderon

Virginia Dall


Honorable Mention Youth:

Bryceen Warda

Eleni Keriotis

Joshua Romano

Nick Trovao

Tegan R. Jackson


Honorable Mention Adults:

Donna Snow

Elizabeth Provost

Louise Kantro

Virginia Dall